Instead

So here I sit, only one full day left of 2011.  Because this is the time for reflection (or so says most of the world), I’ve been doing the obligatory year-in-review in my head.  As usual, I find myself falling down my typical bullshit rabbit hole of “what ifs” and “why didn’t I”.

Yeah, yeah, yeah.  I didn’t lose the weight.  I didn’t quit frivolously spending money.  I didn’t pay off my credit card debt.  I didn’t quit eating meat.

I didn’t, I didn’t, I didn’t.

Falling into that rabbit hole can lead to some pretty destructive behavior on my part, and since it’s been a while since I acted out, I’m going to distract myself.  Humor me.

Instead of thinking about all those things I didn’t do, I’m going to sit here and think about all the things I did, all the things the “year of yes” brought to my life.

The year of yes got me to confront my irrational fear of roller coasters and ride Sheikra at Busch Gardens.

The year of yes (let’s just call it YOY, yes?) also took me on a grand adventure to England

where I lived a life of D-A-N-G-E-R,

danger everywhere!

I swam in the Atlantic Ocean, even though the water temperature was a frigid 50 degrees, a far cry from my balmy Gulf of Mexico.

I threw caution to the wind and left my friends to board the boat to St. Michael’s Mount, as I rolled up my pants and dashed across the stone causeway as the tide rushed in.

The YOY allowed me to climb the 200 and some odd Bedruthan Steps.   We had to time our visit just right and go at low tide because if you climb down those steps and venture too far away and the tide comes in, you will die.

Yeah.   You heard me.  Die.

So we looked danger square in the face and thumbed our noses.

We climbed through dragons and dwarves caves.

We even picked up a case of adventure knees!

We hiked trails and climbed rocks and explored every nook and cranny we could find on our little St. Ives mountain.

I got to rock out to the Foo Fighters in another country!

And when Stacked Actors came on I ran full tilt down this long hill, jumping over and running around people sitting on blankets.

We got close enough to the stage to see Dave sing Everlong, my favorite Foos song

with one of the greatest lines in a love song ever~

“breathe out so I can breathe you in”

One day I will tattoo this on my body.

I stepped out of my Bud Light comfort zone and started a love affair with Stella Artois cidre

I sat on the balcony in my underwear drinking Stella as a hangglider drifted back and forth.

I’m pretty sure he knew I wasn’t wearing pants.

I chased seals in the harbor trying to get a good photo

I did a pub crawl in Bath

I worked on my Queen Mum impersonation

I walked the streets of Bath and saw beautiful flowers everywhere

I went to the panhandle twice and watched my hounds run wild on the beach

And had bonfires on the beach

I also lost 20 pounds and regained 15.

I laughed my fool head off with friends.

I pulled myself out of a rut and started to just say yes

and DO things again.

Yes, 2011 had some disappointments…..

But when all is said and done

I’m pretty sure I rocked it.

5 thoughts on “Instead

Comments are closed.