monkey mind….

I’ve got it.  You don’t want it.

I’m usually pretty sane,  for the most part.   But monkey mind creeps up on me when I least expect it and it stands behind me and gives me a swift kick right to the back of the knees.  Sometimes  I can catch myself but sometimes… well, monkey mind takes me down.

Maybe you’ve met monkey mind before?  It likes to arrive unannounced and unintended.  It will make your mind race and your heart beat and your head will spin spin spinspinspin so much with all the thinking that you will pray to whatever you hold holy to find the “off” switch.

Or maybe you’re one of the lucky ones that knows exactly where to find your “off” switch.  If so, could you point me in the direction of mine?

Remember the old school projectors with the reels of tape?  Monkey mind is like the tape on those reels – never ending, always repeating.   Sometimes it’s good, sometimes it’s bad.

You can never tell when monkey mind is going to strike.  It is stealthy, like a lion on the prowl in the jungle.    It will hunt you down.

But I think I should warn monkey mind- I’m packin’ heat so it had best back the hell off.

 

5 thoughts on “monkey mind….

  1. I too have monkey mind, although I didn’t know what it was called. I think it might also be known as the spin cycle.

  2. I love you Lunchy. Debating a road trip this summer. If finances allow. Might try to make it to Florida, pray for painting jobs!

  3. buy a yoga mat and set a timer
    that’s the only way I can meditate ;P
    works though!

    or

    put lots of metal and rock on the ipod and declutter

    or

    weed the garden (this one works the best for me but is seasonal)

    or

    start a Fight Club

    😀

Comments are closed.